The autumn calendar for accelerators is short. ComoNExT’s NExT Accelerator in Como takes applications until 15 October. Y Combinator closes its Winter 2027 batch on 2 November at 8pm Pacific time, and Techstars London stops on 18 November. Meanwhile CDP Venture Capital’s national network of 20 accelerators opens and closes its calls one programme at a time.
Which startup accelerators in Italy deserve your time in 2026 and 2027, and which foreign ones take Italian founders? Here’s what each one pays and what it takes in return, from the programmes’ own pages. Then the deadlines, the real price of the equity and how to write an application that gets read. If this is your first raise, our beginner’s map from zero to a first round shows where this step sits.
In short
- CDP Venture Capital’s national network has 20 sector-specific accelerators, backed by a €254 million fund, with first cheques of €70,000 to €200,000. You apply on each accelerator’s own site.
- Bocconi’s B4i, in Milan, offers €80,000 for up to 6% of the company. Its programme takes four months, full time. Neither B4i nor PoliHub had an open call on 7 October 2026.
- Y Combinator puts in $500,000, and the first $125,000 buys 7%. Its Winter 2027 applications close on 2 November 2026. Techstars London closes on 18 November 2026 and invests $220,000, with $20,000 of it buying 5%.
- No co-founder yet? Look at Entrepreneur First in London, which can invest $125,000 for 8% once you’ve formed a company. Or Antler in Berlin: €100,000 for 8.5%, and another €100,000 that converts later.
- Price the equity before you apply: your stake’s value at the next round, minus the cash, is what the programme really costs.
Startup accelerators in Italy: the programmes to know
A quick distinction before the names. An incubator can host you for months or years with a desk, services and advice, and often no cheque at all. An accelerator is a short batch with a fixed end date: it usually invests for equity, and the last day is a demo day in front of investors.
CDP Venture Capital’s national network
CDP Venture Capital describes itself as Italy’s leading venture capital fund manager. Since 2020 it has set up 20 vertical accelerators with money from the Fondo Acceleratori (€254 million). Each focuses on one sector. Startups get €70,000 to €200,000 at the start, a pre-seed ticket (the earliest outside money). Later there may be a follow-on of roughly €200,000 to €500,000. More in our guide to CDP Venture Capital.
How do you get in? Through the accelerator’s own website, not CDP’s. About 20 applicants reach the final round and 8 to 10 join each batch. CDP backs companies that are past the prototype and need to validate the business model, so an idea on slides won’t do.
Take VitalMatch, launched this year at the Allianz Stadium in Turin with Juventus among its partners. Its first call promised €150,000 to €400,000 to each of five startups in sport, health and wellbeing, and it stayed open for 24 days, from 10 March to 3 April 2026. Windows that short are easy to miss.
B4i and PoliHub, the Milan university hubs
B4i (Bocconi for Innovation) runs a three-month pre-acceleration programme, mostly online, and a four-month acceleration programme in Milan, full time and in person. For the second you need a registered company, a team of at least two and proof of demand, such as paying users. B4i’s fund, regulated by the Bank of Italy and CONSOB, invests €80,000 through a convertible note, an instrument that turns into shares later. It converts after six months and takes up to 6%.
Timing is the hard part. Batch XIII took applications between 10 November 2025 and 7 January 2026; the batch before it, between 21 May and 22 June 2025. When we looked on 7 October 2026, nothing new was open.
PoliHub, the Politecnico di Milano’s deep tech hub, opens its calls to early-stage teams from Italy and abroad, incorporated or not, with cash grants and in-kind services. All four were closed when we checked. Since January 2025 both hubs have sat under the Tech Europe Foundation, which Il Sole 24 Ore says raised about €130 million in its first 15 months.
Zest and ComoNExT: smaller doors
Zest, born from the merger of Digital Magics and LVenture Group, lists seven acceleration programmes. Its earliest door, the Scouting Ticket, is a €35,000 package with at least €10,000 in cash, over about eight weeks. You can apply alone, with a validated idea or a prototype and no company. Terms come out during selection.
In Como, ComoNExT’s NExT Accelerator takes up to 15 startups incorporated at least 12 months ago, helps them raise money and takes no equity, according to TechBusiness.
International accelerators that take Italian founders
Y Combinator
Y Combinator invests $500,000. The first $125,000 buys 7% on a SAFE, an agreement that becomes shares at your next priced round. The other $375,000 is a SAFE with no valuation cap (the ceiling on its conversion price): it converts on the best terms of any SAFE you issue from around the start of the batch. Batches run four times a year in San Francisco. For Winter 2027 (January to March), apply by 2 November at 8pm Pacific time, and you’ll hear by 11 December.
No US company is needed to apply. If you’re accepted, an Italian company needs a parent in the US, Canada, Singapore or the Cayman Islands: our guide to the Delaware flip for Italian startups explains the move. For the application itself, read how to apply to Y Combinator.
Techstars London
Techstars runs three-month accelerators, and London’s takes any sector. It invests $220,000: $20,000 buys 5% in common stock (ordinary shares) and $200,000 goes in on an uncapped SAFE with a most-favoured-nation clause. Sign a SAFE on better terms later, and Techstars gets those terms too. The final deadline is 18 November 2026. The programme runs from 8 March to Demo Day on 3 June 2027.
Entrepreneur First and Antler
These two start before you have a team. Entrepreneur First spends 12 weeks in London, then funded teams spend 12 more in San Francisco. You get an equity-free £6,000 on signing. If you form a company and EF backs it, it invests $125,000 for 8%, plus an optional $125,000 if you move to San Francisco and incorporate in Delaware. The next London cohort starts in April 2027. Sort out the visa early: EF says it doesn’t provide visas, though it can help you apply.
Antler’s continental European residency runs from Berlin, with a launch pad in Amsterdam, and starts every March and September; applications are open all year. Complete teams stay about six weeks, solo founders about ten while they find a partner. When Antler does invest, €200,000 arrives at once. Half buys 8.5%; the other half is an uncapped convertible note. On top of that it commits up to €300,000 more, to go into your next round within nine months. Still looking? Read how to find a co-founder and what to ask first.
Side by side: cash, equity and length
| Programme | Where | Cash | Equity | Length | Next deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CDP Venture Capital network | 20 accelerators across Italy | €70,000 to €200,000 at pre-seed | Not on CDP’s page | Varies (VitalMatch: 13 weeks) | On each accelerator’s site |
| B4i (Bocconi) | Milan, in person | €80,000 convertible note | Up to 6% | 4 months | None open; the last closed on 7 Jan 2026 |
| PoliHub (Politecnico di Milano) | Milan | Cash grants and in-kind services | Not stated | Varies by call | None open |
| Zest Scouting Ticket | Not stated | €35,000 package, at least €10,000 in cash | Shared during selection | About 8 weeks | Not published |
| NExT Accelerator (ComoNExT) | Como | No investment: help with fundraising | None | Not stated | 15 Oct 2026 |
| Y Combinator | San Francisco, in person | $500,000 | 7% for $125,000, plus an MFN SAFE | About 3 months | 2 Nov 2026, 8pm PT |
| Techstars London | London | $220,000 | 5% for $20,000, plus an MFN SAFE | 3 months | 18 Nov 2026 |
| Entrepreneur First | London, then San Francisco | £6,000 grant, then $125,000 (plus an optional $125,000) | 8% for $125,000 | 12 + 12 weeks | Next London cohort in April 2027 |
| Antler, continental Europe | Berlin and Amsterdam | €200,000, plus up to €300,000 in the next round | 8.5% for €100,000, plus a convertible note | About 6 to 10 weeks | Rolling; starts in March and September |
Accelerator deadlines left in 2026
In date order. One warning about time zones: by 8pm in California, it’s already the early hours of the next day in Italy.
- 15 October: NExT Accelerator, ComoNExT. No equity, but your company must be at least 12 months old.
- 2 November, 8pm Pacific time: Y Combinator, Winter 2027 batch.
- 4 November: the EIC Accelerator’s last full-proposal cut-off of 2026. Despite the name, it’s an EU grant and equity instrument, not a cohort programme, as our EIC Accelerator guide explains.
- 18 November: final deadline for Techstars London’s March 2027 programme.
- No fixed date: Antler reviews applications all year, and its next start is in March. Entrepreneur First shows an April 2027 London cohort, but no deadline so far.
B4i and PoliHub had nothing open on 7 October. For the CDP accelerators, check the sites in your sector every few weeks.
How to choose the right accelerator for your stage
Start with stage, because it rules programmes out fastest. CDP’s accelerators want a company past the prototype. B4i’s acceleration track wants a registered company, two people full time and early proof such as paying users. Zest’s Scouting Ticket, Entrepreneur First and Antler will look at you earlier, even alone.
Sector next. A vertical accelerator brings corporate partners from your industry, and if your first customers are those companies, that beats a famous name.
Then the price, which you can calculate. Say you join B4i, the note converts at the full 6%, and a year later you raise at a €3 million pre-money valuation (the company’s price before the new money). At that price the 6% you gave away is worth €180,000, for €80,000 of cash: you paid €100,000 for four months of mentoring, services and the Bocconi network. Y Combinator’s 7% for $125,000 works the same way. Worth it? For some teams, clearly. For others an angel or a grant costs less, and how much equity to give away at pre-seed and seed has the benchmarks.
Geography last. B4i wants you in Milan, Y Combinator in San Francisco for three months, Antler in Berlin. If your first buyers are Italian hospitals or banks, will three months in California help you sell to them?
How to write an application that gets read
Paul Graham’s advice to Y Combinator applicants works for any committee: “give it to us right in the first sentence, in the simplest possible terms.” He adds that marketing-speak doesn’t work on them. They just hear noise.
- Open with numbers someone could verify, like paying customers, last month’s revenue or growth week on week.
- Say why this programme. A vertical accelerator wants to know which of its corporate partners you’d sell to.
- Make the team obvious: who’s full time, who builds the product.
- Your deck must stand on its own, because the first reader may never speak to you.
- Submit days early, not hours.
Your checklist before you apply
- Narrow it down to three programmes for your stage and sector. Their deadlines go in your calendar, in Italian time.
- Go through the hard requirements one by one. Do you need a company yet? A full-time team, a prototype, a move, a visa?
- Do the equity sum. Stake times expected next valuation, minus the cash you get, is the real price.
- Boil your pitch down to a single line. Three numbers, the same three, in every answer.
- Track down a founder from a past batch and ask, off the record, what they actually got out of it.
- A lawyer reads the SAFE or note before you sign anything.
What are the best startup accelerators in Italy?
It depends on your stage and sector. For a first cheque, CDP Venture Capital’s 20 vertical accelerators put in €70,000 to €200,000. B4i in Milan offers €80,000 for up to 6%. Working on deep tech? Look at PoliHub.
How much equity does a startup accelerator take?
Of the programmes in this guide, Techstars takes the smallest fixed slice, 5% for $20,000. At the other end sits Antler, with 8.5% for €100,000. Most programmes also hold a SAFE or note that converts later, so the final stake can be higher.
Can an Italian startup apply to Y Combinator?
Yes. YC says you don’t need a US company to apply. Once you’re accepted, though, the Italian company needs a parent above it, in the US, Canada, Singapore or the Cayman Islands.
What’s the difference between an accelerator and an incubator?
An incubator gives you space and services, often for months or years and often without investing. An accelerator is short and fixed: one batch, usually money for equity, then a demo day.
Are there accelerators that don’t take equity?
Yes. ComoNExT’s NExT Accelerator takes none (its 2026 deadline is 15 October), and Entrepreneur First’s £6,000 talent investment is equity-free.
This article is general information, not legal, tax or investment advice. Programme terms and deadlines change: check each programme’s official page before you apply, and have a lawyer read any investment agreement.
Adaxit
Applying to an accelerator this autumn? Send us your deck first: a one-page investor read, notes on every slide and the five changes to make first, in 3 to 7 working days.
Sources
- CDP Venture Capital, Fondo Acceleratori and homepage, consulted 7 October 2026
- B4i, Acceleration, consulted 7 October 2026; B4i, Startup Call Batch XIII, 10 November 2025; Bocconi, B4i launches its XII startup call, 21 May 2025
- PoliHub, Call 4 Startups, consulted 7 October 2026; Il Sole 24 Ore, TEF: 130 million over 15 months, 22 June 2026
- Y Combinator, consulted 7 October 2026: The YC deal, Apply, FAQ; Paul Graham, How to Apply to Y Combinator
- Techstars, Capital and Techstars London Accelerator, consulted 7 October 2026
- Entrepreneur First, London FAQ and application portal; Antler, Continental Europe, consulted 7 October 2026
- Zest and Zest, Scouting Ticket, consulted 7 October 2026; Intesa Sanpaolo Innovation Center, VitalMatch Accelerator, 12 March 2026
- TechBusiness, NExT Accelerator ComoNExT, 16 September 2026; European Innovation Council, EIC Accelerator, consulted 7 October 2026
For information only: this is not investment advice or a public offer.



